Saturday, 04 July 2020 | 02:58 WIB

Drought Hits 55 Regencies and Cities

Drought Hits 55 Regencies and Cities (act)

JAKARTA, NETRALNEWS.COM - Acting Head of the Center for Data, Information and Public Relations of the National Disaster Management Agency (BNPB) Agus Wibowo reported that a number of regencies and cities had established drought emergency alert status.

BNPB has identified up to now (7/22/2019), as many as 55 regional heads have established Decrees of Regents and Mayors concerning Drought Disaster Emergency Alert.

The provinces with regencies and municipalities that have set drought emergency alert status include Banten, West Java, Yogyakarta, Central Java, East Java, West Nusa Tenggara (NTB) and East Nusa Tenggara (NTT). Meanwhile, the number of regencies/cities affected by drought was identified as 75 districts/cities, including two districts in Bali.

The regions in East Nusa Tenggara (NTT) Province have five regencies and cities, namely East Sumba Regency, South Central Timor, Manggarai, Rote Ndao, and East Flores, and Kupang City. Provinces on the west side, areas that have set this status are Bima, Dompu and Sumbawa Districts. Meanwhile, the majority of regions determined the status of Drought Emergency Alert namely East Java Province.

"A total of 25 districts have been identified as potentially drought. Banten region is only in Lebak Regency which has set a standby status," Agus said in a written statement on Monday (07/22/2019).

Facing a drought emergency, BNPB, the Meteorology, Climatology and Geophysics Agency (BMKG), the Agency for the Assessment and Application of Technology (BPPT) has coordinated the operation of weather modification technology (TMC).

The coordination meeting held today (7/22/2019) said the operation would be focused on handling drought and crop failure in identified areas.

"At present the potential of rain clouds is less than 70 percent so TMC operations cannot be carried out. However, the aircraft belonging to BPPT are in a stand-by position if there is a region that has the potential to do TMC," he explained.

BMKG said today (07/22/2019) the potential for rain in the next 7 days is still quite low for the Southern Sumatra region, Java, Bali and Nusa Tenggara. On the other hand, cloud growth and the potential for rain are still focused in northern Sumatra, East and North Kalimantan, North Maluku, Maluku, West Papua and Papua.

BNPB data as of July 22, 2019, details 75 districts and cities affected by drought, namely West Java, 21 districts, Banten 1, Central Java 21, DI Yogyakarta 2, East Java 10, Bali 2, NTT 15, and NTB 9. Viewed from the distribution of drought the administrative area levels are as follows: 7 provinces, 75 districts, 490 sub-districts, and 1,821 villages.

The total clean water that has been distributed reaches 7,045,400 liters. Other strategies that have been pursued include increasing the number of tank cars, public hydrants, making boreholes, and water-saving campaigns.