JAKARTA, NETRALNEWS.COM - Social media platform Instagram has introduced the "Restrict" feature to protect their users, particularly teenagers, from online bullying.
"Bullying is a complex issue, and we know teenagers often face this issue on the internet. However, they sometimes feel reluctant to report or block friends who bully of them," Instagram said.
"The Restrict feature is designed to limit negative interactions on Instagram without the person having to know them."
This feature can be activated by swiping left on negative comments, or open the profile of the person you want to be restricted, then select the "Restrict" option.
This feature can be applied to accounts that like to leave negative comments on user uploads. After the Restrict feature is active, comments from people who are automatically restricted can only be seen by that person.
"You, your followers and other people cannot see the comment," Instagram said.
Instagram still gives the choice to see the negative comments. Users have the control to delete comments, leave or allow the comments to be seen by everyone.
The Restrict feature also applies to Direct Message. Messages from restricted accounts will go to Message Request and the sender will not know whether the message has been read or not.
Restricted accounts cannot see when users are active on Instagram. Users also will not get a notification if the account is limited to interact with users, for example, comment.