Tuesday, 15 October 2019 | 05:40 WIB

Lionel Messi Leads 2018-2019 Top Scorer List

Lionel Messi Leads 2018-2019 Top Scorer List (mirror)

JAKARTA, NETRALNEWS.COM – The two goals scored against Manchester United (MU) in the second match of the quarter-finals has taken Barcelona superstar Lionel Messi to the top of the 2018-2019 Champions League top scorers.

Messi has collected 10 goals after adding two goals as Barcelona won againts Man United at the Camp Nou Stadium on Wednesday (17/4) early morning Indonesian local time.

The four-time Champions League winner opened Barcelona's victory in the second leg with a long-range kick that led to the bottom right corner of Man United's goal in the 16th minute.

Four minutes later, Messi doubled Barcelona's lead after a David de Gea blunder.

The two goals against Man United at the same time ended Messi's goal drought in the Champions League quarter-finals since 2013. The two goals also mean that Messi always scored in all phases of this season's Champions League finals.

Before two goals in the quarter-finals, in the group stage La Pulga scored seven goals, while in the last 16 only one goal.

Messi is currently two goals ahead of Robert Lewandowski who scored eight goals. Lewandowski has certainly not added another goal because Bayern Munich have been eliminated.

Three players are on the same level with six goals, namely Dusan Tadic, Moussa Marega, and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Tadic became Messi's closest competitor as Ajax's success in advancing to the semifinals for the first time since the 1996/1997 season.

While Ronaldo, who has always been the top scorer since the 2012/2013 season, is also certain to lose an individual title this season because Juventus were defeated from Ajax in the quarter-finals. Whereas Marega's chance with Porto will be determined on Thursday (4/18) in the morning against Liverpool.

List of top 2018/2019 Champions League scores:

10 goals: Lionel Messi

8 goals: Robert Lewandowski

6 goals: Dusan Tadic, Moussa Marega, Cristiano Ronaldo

5 goals: Sergio Aguero, Paulo Dybala, Andrej Kramaric, Neymar, Edin Dzeko, Harry Kane