Thursday, 28 May 2020 | 22:14 WIB

Fabio Quartararo is Youngest MotoGP Racer to Secure Pole Position

Fabio Quartararo is Youngest MotoGP Racer to Secure Pole Position (motogp)

JEREZ, NETRALNEWS.COMA record was created in the MotoGP event. Fabio Quartararo (Petronas Yamaha SRT) became the youngest MotoGP rider who won pole position at the age of 20 years and 14 days after scoring the fastest time in the Spanish GP qualification at the Jerez Circuit on Saturday (05/04/2019).

The French rider recorded a time of 1 minute 36.880 seconds followed by his team-mate Franco Morbidelli in the second start position with a difference of 0.082 seconds, as reported by the official MotoGP page.

Quartarro's record time is the best lap time this weekend as well as the new Jerez-Angel Nieto Circuit record.

Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda) lost 0.090 seconds from Quartararo to be on P3. Marquez at the beginning of the session scored 1 minute 36.970 seconds as a benchmark before being defeated by the two Petronas Yamaha SRT riders.

Marquez's teammate Jorge Lorenzo ended the qualifying session early after falling at Turn 2 but was reportedly not injured. Lorenzo was only able to finish in P11 followed by Joan Mir (Suzuki Ecstar) as the last rider in Q2 to start position P12.

Mission Winnow Ducati rider Andrea Dovizioso will start from P4 after the time of 0.138 seconds from Quartararo followed by Marverick Vinales (Monsters Energy Yamaha MotoGP) on P5, and Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda Castrol) on P6.

Danilo Petrucci (Mission Winnow Ducati), who performed quickly in the training session on Friday, had to settle for the 7th start, followed by Takaaki Nakagami (LCR Honda Idemitsu) and Alex Rins (Suzuki Ecstar) at P9.

Francesco Bagnaia (Pramac Racing) completes the top 10 start position.

Meanwhile, Valentino Rossi (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) still hasn't found speed with the YZR-M1 and will start from P13 in tomorrow's race.

Q2 Qualification Results

1. Fabio Quartararo FRA Petronas Yamaha SRT (YZR-M1) * 1 minute 36,880 seconds [Lap 6/8] 282km / h (Top Speed)

2. Franco Morbidelli ITA Petronas Yamaha SRT (YZR-M1) 1 minute 36,962 seconds + 0,082 seconds [Lap 7/8] 285k

3. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1 minute 36,970 seconds + 0,090 seconds [Lap 2/8] 287k

4. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Mission Winnow Ducati (GP19) 1 minute 37,018 seconds + 0,138 seconds [Lap 6/7] 287k

5. Yamaha Maverick Viñales ESP Monster (YZR-M1) 1 minute 37,114 seconds + 0,234 seconds [Lap 7/8] 281k

6. Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 1 minute 37.175 seconds +0.295 seconds [Lap 8/9] 286k

7. Danilo Petrucci ITA Mission Winnow Ducati (GP19) 1 minute 37,209 seconds +0,329 seconds [Lap 3/7] 286k

8. Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V) 1 minute 37.332 seconds + 0.452 seconds [Lap 6/8] 281k

9. Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1 minute 37,351 seconds +0,471 seconds [Lap 3/7] 284k

10. Francesco Bagnaia Pramac Ducati ITA (GP18) * 1 minute 37,384 seconds +0.504 seconds [Lap 7/8] 286k

11. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1 minute 37,496 seconds +0,616 seconds [Lap 3/5] 286k

12. Joan Mir SPA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) * 1 minute 37,514 seconds + 0,634 seconds [Lap 7/7] 280k

Q1 Results:

13. Valentino Rossi ITA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1 minute 37,371 seconds 285k

14. Stefan Bradl GER HRC (RC213V) 1 minute 37,406 seconds 286k

15. Jack Miller AU SECOND Pramac Ducati (GP19) 1 minute 37,605 seconds 287k

16. Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1 minute 37,625 seconds 285k

17. Espargaro ESP Pol Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1 minute 37,798 seconds 286k

18. Johann Zarco FRA Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1 minute 37.820 seconds 285k

19. Bradley Smith Factory Aprilia Gresini GBR (RS-GP) 1 minute 38,357 seconds 283k

20. Tito Rabat ESP Reale Avintia Ducati (GP18) 1 minute 38,403 seconds 284k

21. Karel Abraham CZE Reale Avintia Ducati (GP18) 1 minute 38,447 seconds 282k

22. Miguel Oliveira POR Red Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16) * 1 minute 38,894 seconds 281k

23. Hafizh Syahrin MAL Red Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16) 1 minute 40,042 seconds 281k

24. Andrea Iannone ITA Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) There is no record of time

* Rookie.