Friday, 27 November 2020 | 23:46 WIB

Jakarta Pertamina Energi Finishes First Round with Victory

illustration: Proliga competition (Sportanews)

MALANG, NETRALNEWS.COM – The Jakarta Pertamina Energi men’s volleyball team has secured a decisive victory against Jakarta Elektrik PLN with 3-0 (25-17, 25-14, 27-25), thus completing the first round of the 2017 Proliga volleyball competition at the Ken Arok Sports Center in Malang, East Java, on Sunday night (1/29).

Jakarta Pertamina dominated the match that lasted less than one and a half hours. Spikers Agung Seganti, Doni Haryono, and foreign player Sanderson took turns sending sharp volleyball smashes to its opponent. The opposing team failed to block most of the smashes.

Pertamina took the first set 25-17 without any difficulty. It then accelerated its tempo in the second set to secure a score of 25-14. However, Jakarta Elektrik was able to balance the game, despite losing 25-27 in the end.

Victor Laiyan, Jakarta Elektrik’s coach, said the team played in a less calmed manner, and seemed to be surprised by the volley of attacks from its opponent’s spikers. “Their focus went down, especially after lagging behind,” he said as quoted by Antara.

Victor himself did not expect his team to be easily defeated. Jakarta Elektrik had strong confidence on the first day on Friday (1/27) when they were able to subdue Batam Sindo BVN 3-2.

“We will make immediate evaluation, particularly in the line of defense to make it more solid, as well as preparing for the second round in Palembang next week,” Victor said to reporters after the match.

 Meanwhile, Puput Marhaento, the coach of Jakarta Pertamina Energi, clarified that his team had watched Jakarta Elektrik’s game when they faced Batam Sindo BVN. “They are poor in passing, while we have three spikers that are tough for them to anticipate,” he said.

However, Jakarta Pertamina Energi had only collected three points despite already playing twice. The team was defeated by reigning champion Surabaya Bhayangkara Samator by 1-3 on the first match. (*)